An 18th Birthday Letter

(A little insight into our sisterhood – I wrote this to my little sister for her 18th birthday)

Do you wanna build a snowman?

So this was a brilliantly thought out idea by your friends. But what do you put in a letter to someone who you talk to everyday anyway? Here goes…

Let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start. Even though I was only 4 when you were born, I do vaguely remember going to see you for the first time at the hospital. And when you started to sit up by yourself, I’d sit behind you so you wouldn’t fall. That tradition continues and today also you come and sit on my lap millions of times.

Since then, you’ve grown to become a beautiful young woman, and even though I won’t say it, my best friend. (So, if you ever go AWOL like Elsa, you can count on Olaf, Kristoff, Sven and me to come and get you!) You’re smart and awesome and I believe you can be a famous writer one day.

I love how our conversations range from extremely serious discussions, to Disney/ other movie dialogues and songs to the randomest nonsense, inclusive of the shouting matches and stoopid fights.

Oh, the serious fights as well – what’s life without a little sibling rivalry? You can only imagine the Christmas dinners.

I’m sorry for all the times I’ve been mean to you, but, you know, it’s only ‘cause you’ve been mean to me (duh). But if anyone else is mean to you, I shall personally help you beat them up (even though you’re the one who knows more karate from the both of us). Basically, I’ve got your back (unless it’s your front you’re worried about, in which case, I’ve got that too).

So now that you’re turning 18, here are 18 tips to survive the adult human world (not that I have understood it myself, but I’m fulfilling the role of the knowledgeable elder sister):

  1. Don’t change yourself to become what people think is “mature”. It doesn’t matter. Not to you anyway.
  2. People are mean. But you know that already.
  3. People are also stupid. Rickshawalas especially. But you know that too.
  4. Learn to drive. I bet you don’t know that.
  5. Get your voter ID (the cool mark gives you discounts at fancy places). Get mine as well. Pls.
  6. Don’t watch so much TV! Watch your new laptop. 😀
  7. Socialize. Not just online. I can teach you.
  8. Shop for yourself. I’ll tag along as usual anyway.
  9. Update your blog more often! For the greater good. It’s always fun to read what you write.
  10. Paint that canvas. Or I will.
  11. Take part in Malhar and other awesome things all the time. But don’t go to shady places (read: Lalit Bar and Restaurant)
  12. Read lots of books. But not on your iPod.
  13. Cotton eye Joe is a must. You don’t want glasses.
  14. Continue to let me try things on your hair.
  15. ALWAYS LOVE HARRY POTTER. Goes without saying. But. ALWAYS.
  16. You should eat more food! Not just potato and bacon and Lindor.
  17. When the world turns its back on you, you turn your back on the world.
  18. Don’t grow up so fast.

So all these aren’t related to turning 18, most aren’t even tips. But follow them anyway. I always give good advice.

I’ll always help pick earrings for you.

On that happy note, do you wanna build a snowman?

It doesn’t have to be a snowman.

Love.

2 thoughts on “An 18th Birthday Letter

Leave a Reply

