Friday – Not So Dry Day

Rainy day holidays are the best! Only if you haven’t ventured out of your home, obviously. Otherwise, Bombay rains can be quite troublesome.

It started raining yesterday. It went on non stop, for more than 30 hours, and this led to The Great Bombay Deluge, 2015. That’s what I like to call it anyway.

Trains, buses, schools, colleges, shops, life even, came to a complete standstill, with most parts of the city of dreams getting submerged into mucky nightmarish floods.

It did rain all day yesterday too, but the high tide was coming in this morning, and with it, so did the apprehensive messages and calls.

Is school still on today?
Do you think I should get out of the house?
I don’t think trains are functioning.
My entire area is flooded!
Isn’t it unsafe to travel?
I think we should just take the day off.

And that last is what (I’m hoping) most people in Bombay did.

That's what you do when you take the day off!
That’s what you do when you take the day off!

Apart from the usual blaming of the government for not doing anything to reduce the occurrence of such water logging, there were multiple posts on the beauty of rains, or the pleasure of an unexpected holiday all over social media. Most of those were accompanied by photos of garam chai and pakodas, or of flooded roads, or the rough lashing waves at Worli Seaface.

So, stranded at home with a flooded road and compound, I can say I ticked a lot of things off my To-Do List today.

That road isn't usually this under water :P
That road isn’t usually this under water 😛

 

There was a novel I had begun reading ages ago. I picked that up, and finished it off, getting thoroughly affected by the crazy plot twist that most Agatha Christie novels have. Nothing like a good murder mystery to brighten up a rainy day!

This picture was "taken at the flood" ;)
This picture was “taken at the flood” 😉

 

Once I had recovered from the aftermath of reading a good book, I had some lunch and proceeded to work on my doodles. Here’s a glimpse of what I did:

 

This is just WIP
This is just WIP 🙂

Also, I figured it would be nice to add this Bob Marley quote to The Scrap-booking Project, seeing how well it fitted with today’s weather:

~quote~ Bob Marley
~quote~ Bob Marley

 

Then, as another heavy shower proceeded to flood my lane more than what it already was, I teamed up with my mom to bake. We made six muffin sized chocolate lava cakes! They turned out pretty good for my first attempt at baking lava cakes.

Next up was Hugo, a movie I’ve been dying to watch since forever. And what a movie it was! I loved every bit of it, and all of the 1900’s Paris charm. It won five Oscars for a reason!

Meanwhile, the rain came and went. I don’t think it fully stopped, and even right now, I can hear the patter of the raindrops outside my window.

 

Perfect way to spend a rainy day! 🙂

A post shared by Rewa (@rewa2303) on

 

So, while I didn’t do any of the garam chai and pakodas thing, I did spend my day doing the things that I absolutely love.

And it’s midnight now, and I’m blogging. Pretty good way to end a rather wet Friday, don’t you think? 🙂


Another post about a rainy Friday here!

12 thoughts on “Friday – Not So Dry Day

  1. How can one finish an entire book in one day??? Plus, you have done quite a many things in single day, that’s great Rewa. On separate note, glad to see that Monsoon has arrived over there, waiting for it to arrive in Nashik as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t read all of it in one day. I had about half of it left. Plus, Agatha Christie books are generally only about 300-400 pages long.
      Oh yes, monsoon has very much arrived here! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wow, that is day perfectly spent. The rains did u good after all 🙂 book, movie and food, great combination. Its raining pretty heavy in Goa too… but then the rains here are different…you should know better 🙂 🙂 are you indoors today as well..for all we see on tv is that everyone is advised not to venture out.
    Stay safe, the weather is keeping you cool. Enjoy your day Rewa 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • I remember people wanted the winters to go away and were praying for summers. Now the summers are here and we want that to end as soon as possible. God would say: Why can’t humans be happy? We would ask: Why can’t we have moderate temperatures? Poor nature looks confused at the moment with untimely and unseasonal rains (that we get sometimes). 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

