Inktober x Navratri 2016

I love to doodle. It’s the one activity that is a fool proof stress buster for me. So, this year, I decided to follow Inktober.

For those of you who don’t know, Inktober is an initiative started by Jake Parker. The idea is to make an ink drawing every day during the month of October. All Inktober posts are found online under “#inktober”.

Navratri, literally translating to “nine nights”, is a Hindu festival spanning over nine days celebrating the victory of good over evil. It is celebrated in different ways in different parts of India, but essentially involves the worship of Goddess Durga. The day after Navratri is called Vijayadashami or Dusshera. It’s generally a 10-11 day period, depending on the Hindu calendar (which is based on the cycles of the moon).

There’s a fun tradition that is followed during Navratri – each day is assigned a colour. Mostly, you wear that colour on that day. It’s pretty cool to see hordes of people dressed in a single colour when you step out of the house!

This year, Navratri began on 1st October, same as the first day of Inktober.

And that’s how Inktober x Navratri 2016 was born!

I made a doodle each day from 1st to 11th October in the colour assigned to that date as per Navratri traditions.

Have a look!

I’ll be continuing Inktober for the rest of the month! You can check out my Instagram (@rewa2303), where I post all my art.

Edit: Check out the rest of my Inktober 2016 here!

6 thoughts on “Inktober x Navratri 2016

Leave a comment